INTERVIEW :: Brock D. Eastman

Here’s a first. 🙂 An interview. Yee-hooey. If you can remember, I posted a review of Mr. Eastman’s Howl Sage a while back. (Click on *THIS* to read the review.) He agreed to do an interview, and has provided some tasty graphics. Enjoy!

What first inspired you to write?

BDE: A single word came to me, HowlSage. I wasn’t exactly sure what it meant, but soon a story swirled in my mind. Howl was the wolf’s call and Sage was another word for magician, so the definition for HowlSage became magician of the moon. I believe that neither magic or a werewolf can be good, so the HowlSage would be my villain, and further, like C.S. Lewis, I recognized that demons are everywhere. To counter the HowlSage, I needed a demon hunter, and soon I had our hero, Taylor. The story is, of course, fiction, but I’ve pulled elements into it from a reality we often don’t recognize for its very real and true danger. I wasn’t trying to pose any theology in HowlSage. Like stories with dragons, magic, elves, or dwarves, this story is fiction. I hoped The Sages of Darkness series would cause young adults and adults alike to think, to make them reflect, to challenge how they live their life. Too often we make light of things that, if real, would truly be nothing short of demonic–say werewolves, vampires, and zombies. These are not heroes, and because of the elements that make up these fictional species, they can never be.
The first story you ever wrote- How long was it? What was it about?

BDE: Well… First published work was The Quest for Truth: Taken at 87k words. But my first story that I read for an audience, was in third grade. The book (or collection) was titled “The Case of The Missing Cargo? and other misteries” (Yes that’s how I spelled mysteries.) It was under 750 words, but I did do illustrations as well. As you can see I still have the book to this day.

Misteryous. 🙂
How does what you read influence what you write?

BDE: It makes my writing better. I am not a writer! At least not by nature, I went to school for Marketing. People will argue, “You’re published aren’t you? Then you’re a writer.” Fine then I am, but I’m more of an idea guy a storyteller if you will. The editorial stuff is not my strongest skill, the ideas seem to always be flowing but getting them into a readable format that’s the difficult part.

 Storyteller, rather than writer. Well put.
What is your ideal place to write? With what at your desk? (i.e. Tea, Pop, chocolate, etc.)

BDE: My favorite question. I write lots of places, but generally my best work is at our computer desk, Harry Potter, The Village, How to Train Your Dragon, Lord of the Rings, etc soundtrack playing. A mug of Apple Cider or Russian Tea, some stove popped popcorn (kernels and oil) usually make for my most productive writing.

Potter music publishes books! I KNEW it!
How does your faith affect the way you view writing?

BDE: Writing is my outreach. It’s a way to impact kids, adults, non-Christian and Christian with inspirational stories that I hope lead them to seek out the Truth or start asking questions.

I’d say that a key effect of my faith is to stray away from the things that sometimes plague other books like cursing, graphic violence or other elements that are seemingly unnecessary. I’d also say that a Faith like element sometimes drives my characters in some way or not. It’s also easier to speak to a character’s conscience when you yourself have the Holy Spirit guiding your writing.

In five words (or less), describe your book in its entirety. (Hah!)

BDE: HowlSage: Taylor must hunt demons.

Taken: Find parents and seek Truth.

Nicely done.
What does the D in Brock D. Eastman stand for?

BDE: D stands for Douglas after my dad’s twin. My dad’s name is Dave, his brother Doug. Get this: I was named Brock after the St. Louis Baseball player Lou Brock.

Dave, Douglas, and St. Louis. Brilliant.
If you were to write a comedy novel about a mammal of your choice, what would
 it be titled?

B Douglas E: Pirate Penguin’s Lollapalooza or Pirate Penguin’s Popsicle Ship

I don’t even wanna’ guess where you’re getting your inspiration.
What person in your life has most affected the way you write?

BDE: My mom. She was always pointing out things to me like the moon, the color of the sky during sunset, cool looking trees, or animals. She certainly helped me to see the world around me and encouraged my imagination to grow and be free.
Mom’s tend to be that way. 🙂
What is your best advice to young writers(/bloggers) around the world?
BDE: Rely on God to open the doors. It has to be in His time, and it has to be His will. With those together you can’t lose.
(Also, here is the aforementioned tasty cover art.)
Until the next…

3 thoughts on “INTERVIEW :: Brock D. Eastman

Leave a comment