“The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster

Have you ever read a book that just completely blew you away? As in the “over the river, through the woods, and past gramma’s house” kind of away? Norton Juster’s The Phantom Tollbooth did that for me. It really was a story that pulled me (along with my soon-to-be-three-year-old brother, Ezra,) in, and I simply couldn’t take my mind off of it. After reading, I constantly felt like I was wearing some sort of “Juster Glasses.” His was of looking at the world, and words, was so unique- I sincerely hope it rubs off on me. 🙂

***

Once there was a very plain child named Milo. He went about each day with a sigh and a shrug, doing what he was told, getting his schoolwork done on time, but not truly thinking and pondering, not really caring what went on around him. Wake up, eat, school, eat, bed. Repeat. But one day, something changed.

Returning home from school, feeling glum and bored with it all, as usual, Milo found something that was absolutely not as usual. A bright blue envelope containing a large, paper tollbooth. With a declaration of nonchalance (“I do hope this is an interesting game, otherwise the afternoon will be so terribly dull.”) Milo dusted off his small electric car and drove through.

To his vast astonishment, Milo suddenly finds himself in a place he has never seen before, a place very unlike home. But this new-found world, lacking it’s fair peacekeepers, Ladies Rhyme and Reason of the Kingdom Wisdom, has fallen into disrepair, and Milo is tasked with rescuing them. On his was, he finds edible speeches, befriends a ticking watchdog named Tock, and learns to see, love, and understand the things around him like he never could before.

***

I smiled the whole time I wrote this review. Is that cheesy? I really don’t care. 😀 The Phantom Tollbooth is as memorable as it is inspiring- equally entertaining. (And all of these in great proportion.) Bravo, Mr. Juster.

_____

5 of 5 stars

For all ages

1 thought on ““The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster

  1. I love The Phantom Tolbooth. It surprised me, delighted me, and I still can’t quite decide what catagory it falls into. It reminded a little of Alice in Wonderland, only in my opinion, much much better. Glad to meet someone else who loves it as much as I do.

Leave a comment